Review: The Darkest Minds Review: Chasers Review: Cornered Review: Finale Review: Leopard Moon

Tuesday, November 2, 2010

Guest Post and Giveaway: C. Fern Cook

Hello and today I want to welcome author C. Fern Cook, author of the Wild Series. And the floor is all yours....

How the wild series evolved

"The Wild series began when I was a patrol deputy in the Colorado Mountains. I worked

in a county that was cattle country. As charming as that seems, many of the ranchers

killed anything that crossed their property they didn't like.

This did not sit well with me, the great animal lover that I am, I believe all animals have

right to live on this planet. As a patrol deputy, I could do nothing about it unless it was an

endangered species or poaching involved.

I have always been the storyteller, I imagined a rancher that shared his land with all

creatures including the dreaded wolf. This turned into a skin walker or werewolf story.

A good story always takes on a life of its own. While I was writing the series, the story

developed in ways I had never imagined when I first set out to write the first book.

What would happen if you were attacked by a vicious animal? What if that animal turned

out to be human, a changeling? Would you tell the cops about the person you killed in

self-defense? Would you hide the body and tell no one? Who would believe your story?

How would this affect the rest of your life? How could you put this behind you and just

forget about it? Wouldn't you be on edge? Suspicious of everyone? How could you live a

normal life from then on, especially if you became the creature that attacked you?

Wild Evolution is about how Dan chooses to hide the body because he thinks no one

would believe his story. He worries that if anyone found out, he would be charged with

murder. It is hard to be a mellow when you are obsessed with keeping your secret a


Wild Justice is the continuation, how Dan tries to live a normal life and get married and

have family. How he tries to live the American dream of owning his own business.

Wild Legacy continues with Dan's attempt to raise a family and try to blend in with the

rest of the community. This is how the Wild series evolved.

The characters are composite of people I have met through my real life experiences. The

first in the series has a great deal of crime scene processing in it. The law enforcement

officers are composites of officers I had worked with. The crime scene processing is as

real life as possible; this comes from my experience as a crime scene investigator when I

worked with Boulder PD.

Just like my books, I have also evolved as a writer doing this series. I have learned a lot

from the feedback from readers. I enjoy hearing from readers and hear about what they

think. I invite any questions you might have about the series, my writing, or experiences

in law enforcement."
Thank you Ms. Cook for being here. And is she is also giving away a copy of her latest ya novel Wild Legacy. For US ONLY. ENDS NOV 8. 2010
Good Luck and Happy Reading!


  1. Sadly, I had never heard of this series before, but now I'm extremely interested in checking it out.

    It is hard to justify what Dan did, but who wouldn't do the same? Interesting story premise.

    Thanks for the guest post. I'm a huge animal lover, too. I had pet goats, bunnies, and even a cow. Loved them all!

  2. I was given the first book of this series by a friend. I have to admit I would have never bought the book myself. I would have never bought a book about vampires or werewolves, but I was surprised I liked it.
    I bought the second book myself when it came out, I thought it was better than the first.
    I happy to see there is a third book.


Hello lovely reader! Thanks for commenting! I enjoying reading what you have to say :) I have turn on the comment mod due to a large amount of spam. Thanks :)