Review: The Darkest Minds Review: Chasers Review: Cornered Review: Finale Review: Leopard Moon

Monday, January 23, 2012

Blog Tour: The Secret Sisterhood of Heart Breakers


"When her boyfriend breaks up with her on the first day of sophomore year, Lucy has no idea how she’s going to make it through homeroom, let alone the rest of her life. Enter three stunning girls with a magical offer Lucy can’t refuse. All she has to do is get a guy to fall in love with her in the next seven days, and then…break his heart and collect one of his brokenhearted tears. As the girls teach Lucy how to hook a guy (with the help of a little magic), she quickly discovers how far she is willing to go—and who she is willing to cross—to get what she wants.

Fans of Lauren Myracle, Jodi Lynn Anderson, and Meg Cabot will love this tale of breakups, friendship, new crushes, and magic. Told with wit and charm, The Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers is sure to be one of this winter’s most irresistible reads!"

About the author:

Where you can get the book:

Which of your books was the easiest/hardest to write?
  I’m currently working on the sequel to the Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers, and so far that’s probably been both the easiest and the hardest. It’s the easiest because I did a lot of the work of creating the world in the first SSH book. It’s the hardest because I made up rules for this world and now I have to follow them!

    What inspired you to write your first book?

 My first book is about a girl who goes on a road trip to look for her missing sister. It was partially inspired by the time during high school when two of my friends ran away from home.

Which of your characters is your favorite?

Ellie from Wherever Nina Lies because she’s willing to do absolutely anything to find her sister, and Tristan from SSH because he just seems like fun.

    Have you ever written anything that you thought would be controversial and found it wasn't?

Not yet.

    Do you read reviews of your books? If so, do you pay any attention to them, or let them influence your writing?

I obsessively read all early reviews (which may or may not be a healthy thing to do, but I do it!) and then at a certain point I say, “okay, enough now,” and then I pretty much stop entirely. Reaching that point feels like a relief. Even good reviews are stressful to read!

Right now I’m absolutely letting certain reviews influence my writing. I’m working on the sequel to The Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers, which just came out less than a month ago. A bunch of readers have had similar comments, both positive and negative, and so I’m definitely writing with these in mind. I’m really grateful to the bloggers and other book reviewers who took the time to write such thoughtful reviews and I feel very lucky that I have a chance to take some of their comments into account!

  Can you tell us what you are currently working one now?

The sequel to SSH and ideas for something new. 
 Stop by the other tour sites:

1/24 Luxury Reading

1/25 For Those About to Read

1/26 Starry Sky Books

1/27 Sash & Em
Thank you for stopping buy today!
Happy Reading!



  1. If I was an author I can't decide if I would read reviews or not. I would love the positive reviews, but wouldn't want to read the negative reviews. But then, would that be fair - I would think if you're going to read reviews, you should read both the good and bad even if it kills your self esteem. So I probably wouldn't read reviews b/c I wouldn't be able to get beyond the negative comments regardless of the number of positive ones.

  2. I love this cover! (Just had to get that out there lol) Great interview, I love learning more about the author, how they came up with their story and who their fav/least person is! Thanks Savannah!

  3. Loved her answer regarding the second book and how it was both easier and harder to write. I can definitely see how that would be true! It would definitely be difficult to keep to the parameters of an already established sometimes I would think, but that's obviously part of the challenge and probably ends up making it more fun. I could totally be making that up though, I've never written or attempted to write a book, so I could be dead wrong!

  4. This book reminds me so much about high school, because me and my group of friends called ourselves the Red Hearts because we all had matching bracelets with red hearts, but a few guys started calling us heart breakers. LOL

    I so appreciate it when a writer takes their readers reactions into consideration. That is awesome.

  5. Cute interview. I might check out some of Lynn's other books, but I don't think Secret Sisterhood is one I'd enjoy. Hits a bit too close to home with my own high school bullying and the games people play.


  6. I always imagine authors reading early reviews with wide eyes and thumb twirling. Haha. But they have to remember that it's as stressful for us when we didn't love the book to write a review as it is for them to read it. Great post I have this on my wishlist and i'm really looking forward to reading it!

    Xpresso Reads

  7. I just finished this book and wanted to make sure there was going to be a sequel...I'm happy to learn there will be!


Hello lovely reader! Thanks for commenting! I enjoying reading what you have to say :) I have turn on the comment mod due to a large amount of spam. Thanks :)