Review: The Darkest Minds Review: Chasers Review: Cornered Review: Finale Review: Leopard Moon

Wednesday, December 7, 2011

Review: The Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers

Title: The Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers
Series: No
Genre: Young Adult- Fantasy
Author: Lynn Weingarten
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: December 27, 2011
Book: ARC sent by publisher

"When her boyfriend breaks up with her on the first day of sophomore year, Lucy has no idea how she’s going to make it through homeroom, let alone the rest of her life. Enter three stunning girls with a magical offer Lucy can’t refuse. All she has to do is get a guy to fall in love with her in the next seven days, and then…break his heart and collect one of his brokenhearted tears. As the girls teach Lucy how to hook a guy (with the help of a little magic), she quickly discovers how far she is willing to go—and who she is willing to cross—to get what she wants.

Fans of Lauren Myracle, Jodi Lynn Anderson, and Meg Cabot will love this tale of breakups, friendship, new crushes, and magic. Told with wit and charm, The Secret Sisterhood of Heartbreakers is sure to be one of this winter’s most irresistible reads!"
This book definitely took my by surprise. I did not expect what I've read and was totally thrown off. I admit, that I was skeptical and felt it a bit cheesy. As I continued to read on, the plot unfolded to magic that intrigued me. I sat up straighter, diving in the book faster than I thought I would. And in the end, I smiled.

So, what got me off about this book? Well for starters, the synopsis is not what I thought. And now that I think about it, I liked that. I like that as the reader, I was thrown off. When I got deeper in the plot line, it all come to sense. The plot definitely kept the reader on their toes with every new chapters. Heart breaks, rules and magic really gave the reader something new to see.

The characters of this book had some major changing to do with the magic. At first you play be rules, then your conscious gave way. It was like they were testing you or Lucy was testing herself. I liked that Lucy is really seeing who she is. She is so insecure of who she is that she needs this adjustment. It gave her strength to do things she never do but also gave the reader hope that Lucy will make it.

Magic. I loved it. So when it came into the book, into the characters I read on. The magic factor is not witchy but not low either. The magic is used differently in a way I didn't think. Not only was the magic taught, but it was learned. In order to gain magic, you must really know it.

Overall, this book really swept me off my feet. I hadn't expected to understand it all, but indeed I did. I loved the way Ms.Weingarten surprised her readers with elements we did not see. She gave her readers a new sight to love that they never seen. 

I give it 4 BITES!

Happy Reading!


  1. Great review, I love a book that makes you smile.

  2. Love it when books take you by surprise. The magic sounds interesting. Good that you were kept on your toes.

  3. looks like a good one. i'm usually drawn in by good cover art! thanks for the review now i'm def gonna keep an eye out for this one :D keep on keeping on!!

  4. This book swept me off my feet as well! I loved the magical element--I thought it was so well done. I can't wait to read SSH2! :)

  5. Oh I love a good sweeping feet book. Plus the cover is awesomesauce. Darn you did it to me again... another one on the wishlist.

  6. Oh man this sounds really really good! I'll have to add this to my list, like right now! Great review!


Hello lovely reader! Thanks for commenting! I enjoying reading what you have to say :) I have turn on the comment mod due to a large amount of spam. Thanks :)